country codes

Country Code: 54


In the extreme South of the American continent is the Argentine Republic, this is the official denomination that the country receives in the National Constitution, sanctioned in 1853.

With a surface of 3.761.274 Km², the Argentine territory possesses a varied landscape, in which fields of ice and arid zones coexist, alternating mountainous reliefs with plateaus or plains, fluvial courses or lacustrine areas with the oceanic amplitude are communicated, and the steppe vegetation does not obscure the scenery of forests and jungles.

Because of its extension – which correspond to the American Continent; to the Antarctic Continent (including the South Orkney Islands) and the southern islands (Malvinas, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands) – ranks fourth among the American countries (after Canada, the United States of America and the Federative Republic of Brazil ) and the seventh worldwide.

It limits to the north with the Republics of Bolivia and Paraguay; to the south it borders the Republic of Chile and the Atlantic Ocean; to the east it borders the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Eastern Republic of Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean; and to the west with the Republic of Chile. The Argentine Antarctic is included between the meridians 25 ° and 74 ° of Longitude West, to the south of the parallel 60 ° South.

In the country we find four types of climate (warm, temperate, arid and cold) whose variations are determined by the extension of the territory and the accidents of the relief.

Capitol City

The Autonomous City of Buenos Aires is the national capital. Bordered by the homonymous province, it has an area of ​​202 km² where 2,890,151 inhabitants live. Its limits are: to the east, the Río de la Plata; to the south, the Riachuelo; and it is bordered from north to west by Av. General Paz.


With a population of 40,117,096 inhabitants, the Argentine Republic is characterized by being a “melting pot” that defines the essence of Argentina. The first settlers of the current Argentine territory were indigenous who, gathered in different tribes, developed their respective cultures in different degrees. With the arrival of the conquistadores, in the sixteenth century, the customs and values ​​of the Spaniards generated a lasting cultural encounter and the beginning of the mestization of whites and Indians. To these the mulatos and zambos were added to affirm thus the conformation of the Creole population. The last important immigration flow occurred in the second half of the nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth. Of predominantly European origin, they constitute another fundamental pillar of this true “melting pot”.


In Argentina there is a total freedom of worship. The Catholic religion is professed mostly but other cults are also practiced such as Protestantism, Judaism, Islam, the Greek Orthodox religion, the Russian Orthodox and others.

Monetary unit

The official currency is the peso, divided into 100 cents.


The official language is Spanish. Brought by the conquerors, it underwent changes over time, as a result of the coexistence with the native indigenous peoples that enriched it and the successive immigrations that made their contribution to the language of the Argentines.
However, other Amerindian languages ​​such as Mapuche, Guaraní and Quechua, among others, still remain.

National holidays

May 25 – That day, the councilors recognized the authority of the Revolutionary Junta, and that is how the First National Government was formed.

The May Revolution was a crucial change that marked Argentine history. Its critical moment was during the call May Week, from 18 to 25 of that month of the year 1810.
More about May 25.

July 9 – The Declaration of Independence is celebrated.

In 1816, the Congress meeting in Tucumán signed the Act of Independence, proclaiming the existence of a new nation “free and independent of the kings of Spain and all other foreign domination.”

Official time

GMT -3 hours, three hours less than Greenwich (normal / summer)

ˆ Back To Top